REGULATIONS FOR THE ZHANG ZHIFEN

PRIZE IN MATHEMATICS

Beijing Mathematical Society

1. Zhang Zhifen Prize in Mathematics is awarded to mathematicians for their great contributions in the fields of the Ordinary Differential Equations, Bifurcation Theory and Dynamical Systems. It is established by the Beijing Mathematical Society and sponsored by Ms. Zhang Chengshuang.

2. The Prize focuses on the extraordinary depth and profound influence of research in mathematics. Such work may have resolved fundamental problems, created powerful new techniques, introduced unifying principles or opened up major new fields of research.

3. The winners are selected worldwide. The Prize is awarded to one outstanding mathematician every two years. The amount of the prize is RMB 300,000 yuans (currently approximately USD \$43,000).

4. A selection committee is established by Beijing Mathematical Society and operates independently to select the prize winner(s). The committee members are invited worldwide.

5. The committee members cannot be considered for the prize during the term.

6. The awarding ceremony will be held in conjunction with an international conference, to be chosen by the selection committee. The place and time of the awarding ceremony shall be announced well ahead of the event.

7. The name list of the selection committee will be announced on or after the awarding ceremony.

8. The regulations are to be explained by the Beijing Mathematical Society.